Chairperson NCW presides over 4th monitoring committee meet of special cells for women

JAMMU, FEBRUARY 02: Chairperson, National Commission for Women, Rekha Sharma, today chaired the fourth monitoring committee meeting of special cells for women within police system, supported by National Commission for Women and implemented by Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS), Mumbai, held at Udyog Bhawan, Jammu.
Pertinently, the Committee has been constituted under “Violence Free Home, a Woman’s Right” project, demonstration of pilot Special Cells for Women in Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh located in all districts of both the UTs.
Dr. Trupti Jhaveri Panchal, Member Secretary of the Committee and faculty at TISS, Mumbai highlighted the achievements and activities of the Committee.
The work progress on Special Cells for Women of both UTs from 1st June 2023 to 31st January 2024 was presented by Balwant Singh, Coordinator, RCI-VAW, TISS. He highlighted the efforts initiated by the social workers on ground for effective functioning of these Special Cells. During this period, the Special Cells have reached out to 2317 women survivors of violence, he added.
Rekha Sharma appreciated the working of Special Cells and emphasised on further strengthening of coordination among all stakeholders. She further emphasized on increasing the outreach of special cells on social media by making pages on Instagram and Facebook.
The Committee member ADGP, Jammu suggested the need for creating a portal of Special Cell for Women where the case related information is accessible for Police and Social Welfare department for close monitoring can be done. Further, the proposal of institutionalisation of Special Cells for Women was shared with the members of the Committee.
The meeting was attended by members of the Monitoring Committee including Dr. S.D. Singh Jamwal, ADGP, Ladakh, Anand Jain, ADGP, Jammu, Harvinder Kaur, Mission Director, Mission Shakti, Social Welfare, J&K, Debalina Banerjee, Head, North-East and Anti Human Trafficking Cell, NCW, Chandrika Prakash, JTE (Legal), NCW, Dr. Vinay Kumar, Department of Social Work, Central University, Jammu, Dr. Yangchan Dolma, Assistant Professor, Department of Social Work, University College, Leh, Balwant Singh, Coordinator, RCI-VAW, Saima Shah, Coordinator, Special Cells, Kashmir Division and Priksha Sharma, Coordinator, Jammu Division.
Padma Angmo, Commissioner Secretary, Social & Tribal Welfare, Ladakh, Tashi Dolma, Director, Social & Tribal Welfare Department, Ladakh; Qazi Qayoom, Joint Director Prosecution, representative of IGP, Kashmir Division, Dr. Shazia Manzoor, HoD, Department of Social Work, University of Kashmir participated in the meeting virtually.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.